Who was your best teacher?

You never forget your best teacher 😉

stephen perse foundation

We all remember our best teacher. My best teacher was Miss Elizabeth Cross, Head of History, at Palmer’s Sixth Form College in Essex. As a teenager back in the late 1970s I thought she was quite old but, with the benefit of my own advancing age, I suspect she was probably younger than I am now. Teenagers can be very unforgiving.

Miss Cross was a fearless teacher. She was unfazed by the size of the class and the less than focused approach of certain of my class mates. Given she had taught in the College when it had been a grammar school, Miss Cross had to make real adjustments in her pedagogy to engage the interest of her new cohort of students. And the topic of the French Revolution was not to everyone’s taste. For me, Miss Cross’s passion for the period was infectious, her ability to empower her students…

View original post 371 more words

Leave a Reply

